Powerful 7 Chakra Stones and How to Use Them

Chakra stones are crystals or gemstones that correspond to each of the chakras. Chakra crystals or stones are used to energize and balance the chakras for overall physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual well-being. In this guide, we will explore the stones and crystals for each of the 7 chakras and how to use them.

What is Chakra

Chakra is a Sanskrit term that means “wheel”. The 7 chakra refers to the seven energy centers or vortices in the body. Each chakra corresponds to certain areas or functions of the body at the physical level. Each chakra also has functions on the mental, emotional and spiritual levels as well. Each Chakra has a color and other attributes.

Chakra colors and names
Chakra Colors

What are Chakra Stones

Traditionally, for each of the 7 chakras there are different stones that vibrate at the same frequency of that chakra. They are used to balance, energize and harmonize each chakra. For example, when one of the Chakras is blocked, you can use a corresponding crystal or stone (which vibrates the Chakra’s frequency), to help dissolve that blockage. You can also use Chakra crystals to energize a Chakra and tune it to the right frequency.

7 Chakra Stone Colors Chart

Chakra Colors Chart
7 Chakra colors chart

7 Chakra Colors and Stones

Each chakra has a corresponding color and corresponding crystals. You can choose to work with colored stones and healing crystals that have the color of the Chakra you want to heal or energize. For more information, check our comprehensive guide to crystal color meanings.

What are the 7 Chakra Stones

7 Chakra Stones
7 Chakra Stones

Explore the 7 Chakras and their corresponding chakra stones and crystals

1. Root Chakra (Base Chakra)

ROOT Chakra Stones -

Root Chakra meaning: Grounding, confidence, safety, security, drive

Location:  Base of Spine

Color: Red

Root Chakra Stones: Red Garnet, Red Jasper, Red Calcite, Ruby, Hematite, Black Onyx

Related: Root Chakra Healing with Crystals

2. Sacral Chakra

SACRAL Chakra Stones -

Sacral Chakra meaning: Personal power, creativity, sexuality, connecting with others

Location: Lower abdomen, near the belly button.

Color: Orange

Sacral Chakra Stones: Carnelian, Orange Calcite, Sunstone 

Related: Sacral Chakra Healing with Crystals

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

Solar Plexus Chakra Stones

Solar Plexus Chakra meaning: Self-Confidence, self-esteem, self-identity

Location: Upper abdomen at the base of the strenum.

Color: Yellow

Solar Plexus Chakra Stones: Citrine, Yellow Jasper, Yellow Tigers Eye, Amber, Golden Topaz, Pyrite

Related: Solar Plexus Chakra Healing with Crystals

4. Heart Chakra

Heart Chakra Stones

Heart Chakra meaning: Love, forgiveness, compassion, kindness

Location: Center of Chest, just above heart.

Color: Green

Heart Chakra Stones: Rose Quartz, Jade, Peridot, Green Aventurine, Emerald, Green Calcite, Green Kyanite

Related: Heart Chakra Healing with Crystals and Meditation.

5. Throat Chakra

Throat Chakra Stones

Throat Chakra meaning: Communication, self-expression, integrity

Location: Throat, above the Adam’s apple.

Color: Blue

Throat Chakra Stones: Turquoise, Aquamarine, Angelite, Sodalite, Blue Apatite, Blue Kyanite, Iolite, Celestite

Related: Throat Chakra Healing: Powerful Techniques to Heal Vishuddha

6. Third Eye Chakra (Brow Chakra)

Third Eye Chakra Stones

Third Eye Chakra meaning: Mental clarity, insight, intuition

Location: Center of the forehead.

Color: Indigo

Third Eye Chakra Stones: Sodalite, Lapis Lazuli, Fluorite, Blue Chalcedony.

Related: How to Open Your Third Eye Chakra with Crystals

7. Crown Chakra

Crown Chakra Stones

Crown Chakra meaning: Spirituality, oneness, connection to the Divine

Location: Top of the head

Color: Violet or white

Crown Chakra Stones: Clear Quartz, Amethyst, Selenite, Moonstone, Labradorite, Herkimer Diamond

Related: How to Use Crown Chakra Crystals to Heal Sahasrara

How to Use Chakra Stones

Chakra crystals and stones can be used in many different ways. The first step is using your intuition to help you in choosing a crystal that resonates with you, and guide you as to what technique is best for you to use with your crystal that aligns with your purpose.

Here are a few suggestions:

Always start by cleansing your crystals. Read our guide to cleansing crystals.

Meditate with the stone

The stones can be held in the hand, or focused upon during meditation. Hold your favorite Chakra stone or crystal in your hands and meditate on the qualities of the stone, then focus on your Chakra and visualize the blockages dissipate and the Chakra filled with fresh light energy. If you are a beginner, checkout my article on how to meditate with crystals.

Laying the stones on the corresponding Chakras

crystal healing layout

Chakra crystals and stones can be placed over the corresponding Chakra on your body, to energize or clear blockages. You can simply lie on your back, and place the corresponding Chakra stone on the Chakra you want to balance or heal. You can breathe deeply and slowly while visualizing the Chakra color flowing through the Chakra, cleansing and energizing.

Carry the stones on your person

The stones can be carried on your person, or in your pocket, as you go around your daily activities.

Wear the Chakra crystals as jewelry

Chakra crystals and stones can be worn in the form of jewelry, as a chakra stone necklace or a chakra stone bracelet, pendant or earrings.

Sleep with the stone

You can sleep with your favorite Chakra stone under your pillow or close to your body. You can do a brief meditation, focusing on the stone and the qualities you need, just before you sleep.

If you’re interested in learning more about the power of crystals and how to use them, check out some of our recommended books on crystals and stones. These resources can help you understand how to work with these powerful tools for healing and transformation.

Last Updated on July 21, 2022

We include products we think are useful for our readers. If you buy through links on this page, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you.

All content is strictly for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, medical or other expert advice.